Zooming in

The scored was tied 46-46 and we were one game out of a playoff seed. I glanced up at the clock and when I saw the :05 on the scoreboard I knew we had to win this now. Our team was exhausted after destroying our opponents ten point lead during half time. Even with the momentum at our side, there was no way we were going to survive the extra five minute period. We came out of the timeout wanting to win it all. The inbounder passed the ball to me. I dribbled. Now four on the clock. Every second lasting a minute, a hour. Now three, a screen comes and I go around. Two, a crossover then a step back. One, the ball leaves my hand in a high ark seeming like centuries before the ball drops. It makes a swish sound that sounds like victory. That’s because it is. Victory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *